Hi Guys,

We have received dozens of reports from our users about a new Facebook Scam doing the rounds, and I wanted to let you know about it.

Here is how the scam works:

  1. You Get a message from one of your contacts with what looks like a video attached
  2. The note says, β€œIs it you in the video?”
  3. When you click on the video, you are asked to confirm your Facebook user name and password
  4. Your username and password are sent straight to the scammer, who can then log into your account.

It is a straightforward scam, and so far, it has tricked over 500,000 people into handing over their credentials. Make sure you are not one of them. Please do not click on anything unless you are 100% sure that it is safe, and also, never enter your username and password unless you are sure you are on a real page and not a fake one (the fakes ones can look very convincing!).

You can also use the Incognito link checker to check if a link is safe, and if you are an Android user, we can automatically check the link as soon as you click on it. (Please make sure you are running version 170.00 to avail of this feature.

Thank you, and have a great week ahead.

Max Roberts,
Incognito Privacy Care Team πŸ™‚